Category: News

Faces Magazine has announced its 2020 Ottawa Awards finalists and both Caza Saikaley LLP and Jeff Saikaley have been listed for Favourite Law Firm and Favourite Lawyer, respectively.

Voting ends on January 23rd. Please vote for Caza Saikaley LLP and Jeff Saikaley!

The awards will be handed out on January 24th at the Brookstreet Hotel.



We are proud to announce that Marc Sauvé will receive the County of Carleton Law Association’s Regional Senior Judge award on March 7, 2019.

The RSJ Award is described as follows:

Regional Senior Justice Award

The Regional Senior Justice (RSJ) Award honours a lawyer in practice ten years or less who has made an outstanding contribution as a litigator or as a solicitor within the profession through their excellence as a professional, as well as outside the profession by making an outstanding contribution to the community. The RSJ Award will be awarded only to a member or former member of the County of Carleton Law Association.

For a full list of our Regional Senior Justice Award recipients, please click here

Congratulations to Marc and all of the other recipients!


We are proud to announce that Ronald F. Caza will receive the Key to the City in 2019.

The Key to the City is described as follows:

The Key to the City is the City’s highest and most prestigious honour. 

The Key to the City is bestowed upon distinguished persons and honoured guests of the City of Ottawa. The practice of presenting a key to an individual may be traced back to medieval times, when admission into a city was hampered by many legal restrictions, as well as by walls and locked gates. The key symbolized free entry. By the middle 1800’s, it became customary to give a Key to the City as a symbol of the City’s intention that the recipient was free to come and go at will.

Mayor Jim Watson announced this year’s recipients during his State of the City address:

Finally, I’m pleased to announce that I will be recognizing the accomplishments of distinguished individuals this year by presenting the Key to the City to:

  • Author, lawyer and political activist Maureen McTeer;
  • Olympic gold medalist and decorated figure skater Patrick Chan – who was born in Ottawa;
  • Sue Garvey, the Executive Director of Cornerstone Housing for Women;
  • former Premier Dalton McGuinty – Ontario’s only Premier to represent Ottawa in the Legislature;
  • et le pionnier de la communauté franco-ontarienne d’Ottawa – Ronald Caza.

Congratulations to Ron and all of the other recipients!


The Supreme Court of Canada will soon revisit the Dunsmuir framework for the standard of review applicable to administrative action in the trio of appeals (Canada (Minister of Citizenship and Immigration) v. Vavilov (37784), Bell Canada et al. v. Canada (Attorney General) (37896) and National Football League et al.  v. Canada (Attorney General) (37897))

Alyssa Tomkins and James Plotkin represent The Samuelson-Glushko Canadian Internet Privacy and Public Interest Clinic (CIPPIC), which was granted leave to intervene on all three appeals.

Here are CIPPIC’s written submissions to the Court: file:


Our own James Plotkin was interviewed recently on the lawsuits commenced by movie rights holders against thousands of Canadians for alleged illegal download of content such as movies and TV shows.

Radio interview:


Dialogue with the President of the Administrative Tribunal of the Organization of American States, Michel Bastarache, on the importance of his work for the OAS in implementing best practices and the highest international standards of operation in order to close any gap between what is done and what it is said should be done.

The OAS Administrative Tribunal is composed of six judges elected by the General Assembly of the Organization to serve in a strictly personal capacity for terms of six years, with the possibility of being reelected. Michel Bastarache has been serving as the President since December, 2015.